House of the Dragon will return for a third season, it was revealed today.

The sweeping fantasy drama series, based on the works of George R.R. Martin and set some 200 years before the events of Game of Thrones, was officially renewed by HBO just ahead of the launch of its second season.

The show returns Sunday, June 16.

Speaking on the renewal, Francesca Orsi, Executive Vice President of HBO Programming said “George, Ryan, and the rest of our incredible executive producers, cast, and crew, have reached new heights with the phenomenal second season of House of the Dragon. We are in awe of the dragon-sized effort the entire team has put into the creation of a spectacular season two, with a scope and scale that is only rivaled by its heart. We could not be more thrilled to continue the story of House Targaryen and watch this team burn bright again for season three.”

Returning in season 2 are Matt Smith, Emma D’Arcy, Olivia Cooke, Rhys Ifans, Steve Toussaint, Eve Best, Fabien Frankel, Matthew Needham, Sonoya Mizuno, Tom Glynn-Carney, Ewan Mitchell, Harry Collett, Bethany Antonia, Phoebe Campbell, Phia Saban and Jefferson Hall. Additional season two cast: Abubakar Salim, Gayle Rankin, Freddie Fox, Simon Russell Beale, Clinton Liberty, Jamie Kenna, Kieran Bew, Tom Bennett, Tom Taylor, and Vincent Regan.

House of the Dragon is from Co-Creator and Executive Producer George R.R. Martin, Co-Creator, Showrunner, and Executive Producer Ryan Condal, and Executive Producers Sara Hess, Alan Taylor, Melissa Bernstein, Kevin de la Noy, Loni Peristere, and Vince Gerardis.

Based on George R.R. Martin’s Fire & Blood, House of the Dragon returns Sunday, June 16 (9:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT) on HBO and streaming on Max.